Cracker “Candy”

One of my favorite Food Memories is when my mom made these fabulous “Candy Bars”.   None of my friends moms could make candy bars, so we thought mom was magic.  Actually, mom was magic, making delicious foods from practically nothing.  This recipe is an example of taking everyday pantry items and making a quick, delicious snack.  I know it sounds a bit “unusual” but promise me you’ll try this recipe.  You won’t regret it!

Of course, over the years, I’ve made my own little changes for my family.  My kids are grown now, but when I last made these a couple of days ago, my daughter was thrilled!!

“Improvements” I made:  Use Graham Crackers as the base.  When the chocolate has melted and is spread on top, sprinkle with toasted pecans and a light sprinkling of salt.

Todays’ Tip:  I add the sprinkling of salt because salt enhances the flavor of chocolate ~ it makes it “pop”!   

About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on October 8, 2010, in Candy, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. These are AMAZING! SO delicious!!

Leave a Reply

