Baked Oatmeal

Recently, my husband and I traveled and spent the night at a lovely B&B.  For breakfast we were treated to Baked Oatmeal, which I had never had or even heard of before that.  I just had to ask for the recipe.  Of course, I had to make my changes and “update” it to meet my tastes.

I share this recipe with you thinking of the many fall and winter breakfasts ahead. ~ why not make breakfast a bit more special!

 

Baked Oatmeal

In a large bowl whisk together:

1 cup Milk, whole

2 large Eggs

¼ cup Vegetable Oil

½  cup Sugar

¼ cup Brown Sugar

 

Add Dry ingredients to liquids above:

1 ½ tsp. Baking Powder

1 tsp. Salt

1 tsp. Cinnamon

3 ½ cups Oatmeal, old fashioned

½ cup Golden Raisins or dried Cranberries

 

Pour into 8” square pan.

Sprinkle top with:

1 ½ cup Pecans, toasted, chopped

 

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.  Cut into squares and serve in a bowl, pour milk around.  Add a touch of Maple Syrup “drizzle”.

 

About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on October 9, 2010, in Breakfast, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This sounds yummy! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I’m going to try this out soon.

  2. WOW! This sounds great as I love oatmeal. I can’t wait to try this one. I wonder if they can be held to eat or do they break apart? In other words, can I cut them up, bag them and use them as breakfast/ snack bars??
    April

Leave a Reply

