Cheddar and Garlic Buttermilk Biscuits

There’s a certain restaurant chain that shall remain un-named, that serves outrageous cheddar garlic biscuits.  Those biscuits are truly my favorite thing on the menu.  Heck, in my past (really, a long time ago) I’ve been known to stop by and just order a biscuit “to go”.  But then, I made up my own recipe which I think is even better.  I served these biscuits with homemade soup last night and knew you would enjoy having this recipe too!
 
 
Measure into a large bowl:
2 cups AP Flour
1 tsp. Salt
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
1 tsp. Garlic Salt *
1 Tabl. Baking Powder
3/4 cup Cheddar Cheese, Shredded
With fingers, work into dry ingredients:
1/2 cup Crisco
Add to above:
3/4 cup Buttermilk

Pour mixture out onto counter and knead lightly on floured surface.  Cut with a round cutter (or glass, as I often do).  Place on greased baking sheet and bake in a 350 degree oeven for approx. 15-20 minutes, until golden brown and done in center.

When hot out of the oven, brush each biscuit with melted butter and sprinkle generously with garlic salt. Serve warm.

* I use California Style Garlic Salt which has parsley in it.

About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on November 2, 2010, in Breads and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

