Coconut Cookies

My mom’s Coconut cookies were a huge seller in the bakery.  My customers will be thrilled to get their hands on this recipe.  I skipped the jam (except for during the holidays) for the most delicious coconut cookie you can make.  Of course, you must use Butter in place of Oleo for the best taste.

Cream:
2 cups Sugar
1 cup Butter
Beat in:
2 Eggs, whole
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
Add:
3 cups AP Flour
1/2 tsp. Salt
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
1/2 tsp. Cream of Tartar
Stir in:
1 cup Oatmeal
(nuts are optional – I did not add these)

Chill the dough.  Roll in balls.  Roll each ball in flaked coconut. Place on parchment lined cookie sheets and bake in 350 degree oven for 8 minutes.  For Jelly thumbprints, press thumb into the center and place 1/2 tsp. Raspberry jam in the center.  Bake as instructed.

These cookies freeze great!  I made the dough in advance, then baked fresh as needed.

About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on November 3, 2010, in Cookies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I LOVE coconut. Thanks for this recipe. I can’t wait to try it!

  2. Hi Chris, Since I’ve fully adjusted to dairy-free diet (except butter allowed, thank Goodness!) and feeling great, coconut cookies sound wonderful… and I can get all the ingredients here in Cambodia, including fresh-grated coconut in the market 3 blocks away, where I also get fresh-squeezed coconut milk…. yummm! Thanks for the recipe… I love “in the family” ones! Looks like your bakery is doing really well! Wonderful! I must make a stop next time I’m States-side : )

  3. i love coconut cookies and i have to say that i like the recipe in the notepad coz that’s also how i do it. i always keep a notebook at hand 🙂

  4. Hi, Chris. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I see in your mom’s recipe cookies are filled after they baked, in your instructions cookies are filled before they baked.
    Which way is better? Is there any difference in taste?

    • Hi! No difference in taste, but I found that following mom’s way and filling after, the filling falls out frequently if I store/freeze them. If I fill first, the filling is baked in and doesn’t fall out.

Leave a Reply

