New Year – New Direction!

Happy New Year!  Welcome to 2011 at thebaKINGway!!

I don’t know about you, but I’ve had enough of cookies and rich desserts – just for a while.  So, I’d like to take myself and my readers on a bread baking journey.  After a brief introduction to the basic ingredients and the steps to making bread, I’m going to post a new bread recipe each posting in January 2011. There’s no chance of boredom setting in – there are MANY, different varieties of breads!

My favorite classes at culinary school (CIA) were the Bread Classes. I had excellent Chef Instructors whom I learned much from. Their passion gave me excitement for baking breads.  It was in culinary school that I first heard of, tasted and baked Ciabatta, Foccacia and a Boule.  Ever since, I’ve been intrigued by the amazing process that takes a couple of simple ingredients and makes, quite literally, the bread of life!

I’ll be featuring some of my mom’s bread recipes, some of my own, and I’ll be trying some new recipes for the first time (Giving credit where credit is due).  I’ll share all of my successes and failures, tell you what worked and what did not and, I’ll give you a “head’s up” on what to look out for. I’ll take lots of pictures so you’ll see how to proceed.  Along the way, I’ll give you tips to make bread baking easier and not intimidating. I hope you will join me in baking bread in your home and then write to tell me about your experiences.


About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on January 1, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I cannot wait to go on this journey with you…while going back and making some of the wonderful “sweet” treats you have already posted!!

  2. I have resolved to bake my own bread this year — I look forward to following your bread posts! Theresa

Leave a Reply

