English Muffins

I’ve been posting through January about bread baking and today’s recipe is no exception.  EXCEPT…that it’s not baked in the oven but on top of the stove in a skillet or on a griddle.  Homemade English Muffins taste so much better than store bought and they are amazingly simple to make and so inexpensive!   This recipe makes 16-18 muffins and probably cost about $2.00 (max) in product ~ since it really just uses simple ingredients.  I used to buy the ‘popular brand’ from the store for $3.50 for only 6 muffins!!  Best of all they freeze so well, if you don’t eat them all, you can freeze them for another day!

This recipe is an adaption of Michael Ruhlman’s recipe.  Michael Ruhlman is an author of numerous cookbooks, food writer and blogger.  I first followed his recipe to the tee and was very pleased with the results.  I got to thinking that I’d really like more of the “holes” and  knew that what I needed was more carbon dioxide gas to form bubbles – and then the “aha” moment!  I realized that I could exchange the Baking Powder originally called for in Ruhlman’s recipe with Baking Soda.   Baking science told me that in order to use Baking Soda, I needed to add an acid, so I exchanged honey for sugar.  I also use Bread Flour instead of AP Flour because I wanted the dough a bit less sticky.  In the end, I’m thrilled with the end results and hope you will be too.

Combine in a small saucepan on low heat and melt:        
1/2 stick Butter
1 Tabl.  Honey

Add to the pan with melted butter and warm to approx. 105 degrees (warm – NOT HOT)
2 cups  milk

Remove above pan from heat and stir in and allow to proof  for 15 minutes:
2 tsp. active dry Yeast

Place in mixer bowl:
4 cups Bread Flour
1 tsp. Salt
To the dry ingredients add and mix well:
Above milk mixture
1 large egg, beaten

Cover with plastic wrap and set aside for 2 hours, or refrigerate overnight (removing it from the fridge an hour before cooking).

Right before cooking, stir into the batter:
2 tsp. Baking Soda dissolved in 1 Tabl. of water

I used a griddle that stretches across 2 burners.  If you don’t have a griddle, you can use a skillet. The burners were turned down to a low flame.  If you’re using english muffin rings, butter them.  I tried the rings, but then changed to wetting my hands with cold water and free forming them into a circle/disk and this worked very well.

Dust the griddle or skillet with corn meal (no grease or oil necessary).  Place the dough onto the griddle.   Bake on the first side for 7 minutes. Dust the top of the cooking muffins with cornmeal and then flip them over and continue to cook for another 7 minutes on 2nd side.

Cool on rack.  Split with fork to serve (using a knife will ruin the “holes”).

About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on January 6, 2011, in Breads, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have never seen a recipe for english muffins- and i went to culinary school!- I am so excited to try these out.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention English Muffins « The baKING Way! -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

