10 Grain Bread

Yesterday, NY got slammed with snow – again!  I wanted to take advantage of the day inside to make a multi-grain bread.  I did get out to the store in the afternoon to purchase Bob’s Red Mill Multi Grain cereal.  The problem with living in a small town in the country is you don’t get huge choices in brands and varieties.  As it turns out, my local store only carried Bob’s Red Mill 10 Grain Bread Mix.  I bought it thinking it was a flour blend.  After arriving home, I realized that what I had purchased was actually a 10 Grain Bread Mix.  At first, I thought I’d just use it as a flour mix and make my own recipe, but then…I thought, why not just make it and review Bob’s Red Mill 10 Grain Bread Mix. So today’s post is a review of a mix (I never saw that one coming).

I realize a product review isn’t the “norm” for this blog – since I make everything from scratch, but stay tuned, because this is a good review.  This bread mix couldn’t be easier and for a multi-grain bread that’s exceptional.  Multi-grain breads often require a biga, a soaking of grains, and when all is said and done, it can be quite time consuming.  In this case, the mix comes with a packet of yeast.  The directions on the back of the package are very simple:  Pour the mix and the yeast in the bowl, add water and oil and knead.  Of course, I had to proof the yeast in the water (force of habit).  Then I added the flour mix and the oil and using the dough hook on med. speed, let it “knead” for 8 minutes.  Next step was to allow the dough to proof in a warm, draft-free place for 2 hours.  I punched the dough down, pressed it out and rolled it tightly to form my loaf.  I placed the loaf in a well greased pan and allowed it to rest and rise again for another 1-1/2 hours.  I baked it for 25 minutes in a 375 degree oven.

This bread rises very well.  It turns out with a nice crust and a very tender crumb.  Here it comes – I couldn’t have made it better myself!  Perhaps it was meant to be for me to pick up the mix – I now can say homemade is not always better (again, something I didn’t think I’d hear myself saying).  Next time you are in the store, be sure to pick up Bob’s Red Mill 10 Grain Bread Mix to make for your family.

About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on January 28, 2011, in Breads, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nice high-rising loaf. Will give you wonderful slices for French toast too.

  2. Lovely!!! Your bread rose beautifully!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

