Lions, Tigers and Monkeys – Oh My!

My daughter is expecting her second child (my second grandbaby!!) at the end of April.  Her co-workers gave her a lovely surprise Baby Shower this past Saturday.  I offered to bring cupcakes with the theme baby safari animals (they fondly call their first-born, “monkey”). With 40 guests RSVP’d, I had a busy Friday prepping. Soon, I found myself up to my elbows in fondant pieces as I assembled my version of safari animals.  I free-handed these animals and, as usual, decided the “next time” would be easier (note to self: order small animal cutters).

Making these animals is an easy enough process, though time consuming.  Fondant comes already colored in small amounts at craft stores and white fondant can easily be tinted any color.  All you need is some parchment paper, a rolling pin, colored fondant, cutters – if you have them, or a knife and edible food markers.  Attach pieces of fondant to other pieces simply by brushing with water.  Use edible markers to make small details.  Allow to dry overnight.  I just placed them on top of the buttercream!



About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on March 8, 2011, in Decorating Ideas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great job on those safari cookies….and congratulations!!
    No one mentioned that Rachel and Steve were expecting again. What is she having?

    April

Leave a Reply

