Food Memories – Chocolate Oatmeal No-Bake Cookies

Recently, scientists announced what many of already knew:  There are direct links between food and memories.  Happily, my mother and I shared many memories as we talked about, wrote about and prepared food together. Today is the anniversary of the death of my mother from Alzheimers Disease.  On this day, I always prepare and eat foods that remind me of her.  Please indulge me in sharing this very true story about my mom on her death bed and the last food memory I have with her.

Mom had been placed on “Comfort Care” meaning no food, no tubes, just waiting for her end. I waited at her bedside for days. She hadn’t been lucid enough to recognize family or speak for weeks.  And yet, on the 9th day of not eating, she looked at me and mouthed “choc-o-late”!  No kidding!!  I jumped up and asked her “Mom, did you day something??!” To which she again mouthed “choc-o-late”.  For the first time in a long time, I knew mom was really “in there”.

Against the nurses wishes, I rushed to the nearest store, bought some Lindt chocolate filled truffles and ran back to her room.  I warmed the truffle in my hand, cut it in two, and drizzled the chocolate inside on mom’s bottom lip.  Then…she smiled at me as if to say “thank you, I needed that!”!!!  Not long after, mom went home to be with God.

This isn’t a sad memory – it’s one that makes me laugh, because truly, my mom LOVED chocolate!  She used to purchase her favorite candy bars by the case, not by the bar (luckily for her she had a metabolism that allowed her to eat like this.)  When I was a kid, mom used to make these simple cookies (from a Betty Crocker book years ago) as a treat, sometimes for us kids and sometimes for herself to share with us.  When my children were little, I made them, and now, my daughter will make them for her children. Just a simple little cookie – so many precious memories!


In a medium size pan, bring to a boil:
1/2 cup Butter
2 cups Sugar
1/2 cup Cocoa Powder
1/2 cup Milk
Dash of Salt

 

Stir constantly and boil for 4 minutes.  Remove the pan from heat and quickly stir in:
1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
3 cups Oatmeal (Quick Cooking)

Drop by spoon or scoop onto a piece of parchment.  Allow to cool and enjoy!

About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on March 11, 2011, in Candy, Chocolate, Cookies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Now that’s an amazing family memory!! Thanks for sharing and wishing her lots of chocolate love in Heaven.

  2. that is cool.
    Dave loves those. I think i made them with peanut butter though. He could really scarf them down!
    thanks for sharing the memory.
    What a special gift God gave you that day.

  3. Nom nom. 🙂

    What a special experience! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  4. You are such an amazing writer! I LOVE these cookies! I’m hoping to make some now even though it’ s nearly 10:00PM!

  5. I’m a sucker for chocolates! and with a busted oven..a NO BAKE recipe like this is just what I need!! Thank you so much! 🙂

  6. Just lovely. Thanks for posting and I am now following you on Twitter. Keep the posts coming. 🙂

  7. My Dear Chris,
    Thank you so much for sharing this story!!! The love you have for your mom is so beautiful…as you are! Thank you again!! I LOVE reading your posts! You are a wonderful pastry chef! 🙂

Leave a Reply

