Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

When I lived in Ohio, practically everyone I knew grew rhubarb.  All you had to do was ask and someone would happily hand over a bag full.  Here in this section of NY, no one even seems to know what it is – even the local farms I went to who looked at me like I had four heads when I asked them for it.  But wait…I FINALLY found it at a local market and you’ll never guess how much – $9.00 a pound!!!!  Sorry for the excessive use of exclamations marks, but, really??!!!  Anyway, since rhubarb is only seasonal once a year for a couple of weeks, I sprung for enough to make one Strawberry Rhubarb Pie.

Since rhubarb is so tart and requires quite a bit of sugar, the strawberries are a wonderful addition to help sweeten and add intense flavor.  This recipe comes from the Amish in Ohio and makes enough for 1 deep dish pie.

 
In a large bowl stir together:
4 cups Strawberries, washed and quartered
3 cups Rhubarb, washed and cut into 3/4″ chunks
1 cup Brown Sugar
1/3 cup Cornstarch
dash Salt
1 tsp. Orange Zest (optional)

*Prepare pie crust for double crust pie following instructions under pies in index to the right OR 2 store bought crusts

          

           

Roll one pie crust and place in the bottom and up sides of the pie pan.  Fill the pie crust with the filling (it will look like too much, but strawberries and rhubarb cook down a lot).  Place little bits of butter (about 2 tsp.) on top of filling and top with the top crust.  Crimp the edges of the pie.  Cut slits in top for venting of the steam.  Cover the edges with foil to prevent over browning.  Place on baking sheet and bake in 375 degree oven for 30 minutes and then remove the foil from edges.  Continue to bake another 30-45 minutes until juices are bubbling over.  Cool completely before cutting.

About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on April 20, 2011, in Pies, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is an all time fav and holds wonderful childhood memories for me. I grew up with rhubarb growing in my back yard and can remember my mother baking strawberry rhubarb pies. It’s always been one of my favorites!! It also became my son’s favorite. This was his request at birthday time instead of birthday cake. He loved it so much that I made 6 of these pies to be served at his wedding in lieu of the traditional wedding cake! I have not seen rhubarb in San Diego since moving here. How sad that something so prolific would be so crazy over priced! I’m jealous of the person who got to enjoy this pie!

Leave a Reply

