“Sinful” Bars

While scanning the internet, I found a recipe made by Heather, of Making Life Delicious.  Heather got the recipe from “The Great American Bake Sale” Cookbook. I knew Rachel and her husband Steve would love because of the peanut butter/chocolate combination.  I asked Rach to make and review these and she anxiously agreed.  She might not agree so readily next time because she is cursing me for the calories of this dessert.

“Sinful is the perfect name for these rich and delicious bars.  They were so divine that I was willing to trade breakfast, lunch and dinner for 1 large piece!  The recipe was extremely easy to follow and reminded me of what we call Buckeyes in Ohio.  The peanut butter- chocolate combination is amazing!  I used extra chunky peanut butter because I knew it would give the bars a wonderful crunchy consistency, but you can use smooth.

The original recipe called for 4 cups of powdered sugar, but I only used 3.  If I were to use this recipe again I would omit the stick of butter that is combined with the chocolate for the topping.  I would just spread melted chocolate to cut the calories of the butter because it wouldn’t compromise the taste and it would allow me to eat two pieces without feeling extremely guilty!   Try this recipe for yourself- it truly is sinful.”         – Rachel

Melt in microwave:
1 cup (2 sticks) Butter
2 cups Chunky Peanut Butter

Stir into above:
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
2 cups Graham Cracker crumbs 
3 cups Powdered sugar

Line a 9 X 13-inch pan with foil allowing it to extend about 2 inches up past the two long sides of the pan.  Pat the peanut butter mixture into the lined ungreased 9 X 13-inch pan.  Refrigerate to chill.

Slowly melt in microwave and then spread on cold bars:
7 ounces Semisweet Chocolate Chips
4 ounces Milk Chocolate Chips
Pinch salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) Butter (optional)

Chill in refrigerator to set.  Pull the foil out of the pan by the edges.  Place on cutting board and use a hot knife to cut “clean” pieces.  Enjoy!!

About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on June 1, 2011, in Candy, Cookies, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Oh I used to make these! I haven’t made them in ages, but something tells me that won’t last long.
    Karen

Leave a Reply

