“Lime in the Coconut” Cookies

In the middle of this heat wave, I turned the oven on…and baked!  What would cause me to heat up the kitchen – if not the entire house with even more heat??  It was a yearning to try a recipe that I have seen originating from Cooks Illustrated and covered on many blogs:  Lime and Coconut Sugar Cookies.

Something about the combo of lime and coconut that struck me as the perfect summer cookie.  Yet, when I researched the original recipe, I saw that it had oil in it, and cream cheese and I’m not a fan of oil in cookies.  I made my own recipe using the same 2 ingredients and hope you enjoy it too.  These cookies are worth turning the oven on!

In a mixer bowl, cream:
1 cup Butter, softened
1-1/2 Cup Confectioner’s Sugar
 
Add:
2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
 
Mix in:
2-2/3 Cups AP Flour
1/2 cup Coconut
1/2 tsp. Salt
 
Add to above and incorporate:
4 Tabl. Half and Half
2 Tabl. Lime Juice
1 Tabl. Lime Zest

 (Combine in a bowl – 3 Tabl. Sugar and 1/4 cup Coconut for rolling)

Roll the dough into 1″ balls and toss in the sugar and coconut combination.  Place the balls on a parchment lined cookie sheet. Flatten with the bottom of a glass.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 10-12 minutes or until firm to the touch.   Serve with an ice cold drink.  Makes approx. 4 dozen cookies.
 
          
About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on July 15, 2011, in Cookies, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. These sound delicious! I love lime in everything!

Leave a Reply

