Struggling to “Get Back on the Horse”

After a long, hard summer, the effects of the hurricane, and now the death of the dearest woman I’ve ever known, I’m facing a dry spell.  Not sure what to bake, what to blog about, or even if I care to do either.  I know I have to “get back on the horse” and begin to go back to my “normal”.

The truth is, baking has always been a release for me – I bake because it makes me feel good to create something that brings pleasure to others.  Sometimes, I bake to get “lost” in the kitchen so I can think, and sometimes I bake just to prove to myself I’ve still “got it”.  Blogging about my recipes and experiences gives me a “virtual audience” for sharing.  I feel like I’m talking to you, teaching a virtual course on baking right in my kitchen and you are all right there with me, eager to learn and experiment and get your hands sticky.

Thank you for your patience and understanding as I gather myself and learn how to start again.

About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on September 19, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. May you know and experience God’s love, peace, comfort, strength and wisdom to continue to share the gift He’s given you!

  2. Oh goodness, I’m so sorry to hear about your struggles. I too bake because it touches my soul in some mysterious way. I think it has to do with the connection to all the women throughout the ages that have baked to sustain their families. I encourage you to be gentle with yourself and give yourself time to heal. If that means baking -then bake- if not- you don’t have to get “back on the horse” right away. Your soul will let you know when it is time. My thoughts are with you.

  3. I am sorry to hear about all the sadness in your life. I bake to relieve stress and for comfort. I hope you will also find comfort in your baking.

Leave a Reply

