Snickerdoodle Muffins

I have a confession: I’m hooked!  Hooked on Pinterest.com.  In case you’ve never heard of it, which I can NOT imagine, it is a virtual bulletin board where you can “pin” pictures/articles you find on the internet (for FREE!).  For me, this is amazing, because I often find something I want to share with someone and then can’t find it when I need it.  Anywho…Pinterest also allows you to look at what others are “pinning”.  In a way, it helps to keep up on trends. (You can also “follow” people – like me, for example, http://pinterest.com/bakingway/  if you have similar interests.  Not that I’m trying to get you “hooked” too ; )

Right now, one of the trends that everyone seems interested in is Snickerdoodle anything: muffins, cakes, cookies.  I became so interested in this recipe, I looked it up and tried it.   Of course, I made a few adjustments to the original recipe to better suit my tastes.  Looking at the top of the muffins, you’d swear you’re looking at Snickerdoodle Cookies.  I think you’ll enjoy it too!  This recipe makes 12 large muffins.

In a mixing bowl, cream until light colored and fluffy:
1 cup Butter, room temperature
1 cup Sugar
 
 
Add to above:
1-1/4 cups Yogurt
2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
2 Eggs
 
In another bowl, combine the dry ingredients:
2-1/4 cups Flour
3/4 tsp. Baking Soda
3/4 tsp. Baking Powder
3/4 tsp. Cream of Tartar
1 tsp. Nutmeg

Stir dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, careful not to over-mix.

For dipping, combine:
1 cup Sugar
2 Tabl. Cinnamon

Drop scoops of muffin batter in a shallow plate or bowl with cinnamon sugar mixture.  Turn each scoop of batter over in order to thoroughly coat all around with sugar.  Place the scoop in muffin paper/pans.  Bake in 350 degree oven for 22-25 minutes, or until done in center.

  

About bakingway

Baker/Pastry Chef for over 25 years.

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Breakfast, Muffins and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

